THE COMMITTEE

lefranc

It is with pleasure that the Administrative Council, the Members and Personnel of the D-Day Commemoration Committee present the new web site. Our aim is to provide a site that is attractive to the general public and is also educational for those who are interested, or even passionate, about the D-Day Landings and the establishment of an Allied bridgehead, which led to the Battle of Normandy and ultimately to the liberation of France and Europe.

The period between 1st and 14th June 1944 is focused on and, in particular, the airborne operations, the landing on the five beaches code named UTAH, OMAHA and GOLD, JUNO and SWORD and the remarkable feat of arms of the US Rangers at LA POINTE DU HOC.

Discover the great events that we read about in the history books but, which were paid for in the lives of young servicemen. Let’s never forget the sacrifice in the pursuit of democracy and the liberation of the enslaved people.

Behind each uniform, every soldier was guided by a sense of duty but, also with the fear of never returning to his homeland.

Many of them now lay for eternity in the soil of Normandy.

Visit the numerous cemeteries in the region and reflect on the sacrifice of these men and women in their quest for liberty.

The genesis of the Committee from its creation to the present day is presented, along with commemorative ceremonies and the role of the Committee in the creation of museums and monuments.

Our objective is to share and transmit the memory of the servicemen of 1944, in order than no one forgets their sacrifice and the high cost that was paid for this liberty.

 

Jean-Marc LEFRANC
President
Former Member of the National Assembly

La Création

Le Président

Les anciens présidents

La mémoire

Cérémonies

Monuments

Musée

Projets

Esprit de liberté

Autres missions

LE COMITE

lefranc

Le Conseil d’Administration, les membres et le personnel du Comité du Débarquement ont le plaisir de vous faire découvrir le nouveau site qui vient d’être élaboré.

Nous avons souhaité qu’il soit attractif pour le grand public mais aussi didactique pour les amateurs et passionnés de cette période que fut le débarquement des forces alliées en Normandie, de sa préparation à l’établissement d’une tête de pont permettant d’engager véritablement la bataille de Normandie qui allait conduire à la libération de la France puis de l’Europe.

Nous avons concentré nos récits sur une période allant du 1er au 14 juin 1944 en mettant l’accent sur les opérations aéroportées, sur les 5 plages ayant reçu pour nom de code UTAH, OMAHA, GOLD, JUNO et SWORD sans oublier la célèbre POINTE DU HOC prise par les Rangers américains.

Vous découvrirez des hauts faits inscrits dans les livres d’histoire en lettre de sang. En effet, il ne faut jamais oublier que des milliers d’hommes ont sacrifié leur vie pour restaurer la démocratie et rendre la liberté à des peuples asservis.

Derrière chaque uniforme, chaque soldat était un homme partagé entre le sens du devoir et la peur de ne jamais revoir les siens.

Nombre d’entre eux reposent pour l’éternité sur cette terre sacrée de Normandie.

Allez visiter les nombreux cimetières de notre région et ayez une pensée émue envers ces hommes et ces femmes épris de liberté.

Notre site vous fera la genèse du Comité, de sa création à aujourd’hui. Vous verrez des images des cérémonies commémoratives, vous verrez quelle fut notre action dans la réalisation de monuments et de musées.

Notre but final est de partager et de transmettre une mémoire, celle des combattants de 1944 afin que nul n’oublie combien grand leur sacrifice et combien fut élevé le prix de la liberté.

Je vous souhaite bonne lecture,

 

 

Jean-Marc LEFRANC
Président
Ancien Député du Calvados

1-Creation

3-Ceremonies

7-Monuments

2-Memoire

4-Projets

6-Musees